When you’re hurt on the job in Nevada, we can help you file your workers’ compensation claim so you can get paid for medical care and lost time from work. Call our office today and we’ll make sure you get started on the right path to recovery.
Under Nevada Workers’ Compensation Law, injured workers must follow specific guidelines to get paid for work-related accidents. Notifications must be made, certain forms must be filled out, and deadlines must be met. There are even rules about which doctors you can see. We’ll guide you through the claims filing process so you stand a better chance of recovering the money you need after your accident.
If you’re injured on the job, your well-being must come first. If your injuries are a medical emergency, call 9-1-1 or seek help at your nearest emergency medical facility right away. Once your condition is stabilized, it’s time to get down to business and file a work injury claim.
You should report all workplace injuries to your employer right away- even if they don’t initially seem severe. An injury report can serve as record of the incident if medical treatment is sought for the condition in the future. When reporting your injury, you’ll need to fill out your portion of form C-1, Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease-Incident Report. Make sure to get a copy for your records. Under Nevada law, injured workers have just seven days to notify employers of their injuries. After that, claims may be denied.
There are other forms and paperwork that must be filled out and submitted as well. For instance, you’ll need to fill out your part of form C-4, which is an Employee’s Claim for Compensation/Report of Initial Treatment, and turn it in to the attending physician. This form must be submitted to the insurer within 90 days from the date of the of the incident or from when you became aware of an occupational illness. Remember, your claim for benefits is not filed until this form is submitted to the insurer. Claims that are filed past the deadline or contain incomplete information are likely to be denied.
Even if you miss a deadline, go ahead and file your claim. You may have a permitted excuse for filing late. Be sure to explain the delay. If you filed your claim after you were fired by your employer, that should be reported as well.
If your claim is denied or you do not receive a response from your employer or the insurance company within 30 days, be sure you call our office if you haven’t already. We’ll look into the matter, and if necessary, gather the evidence and prepare your case for an appeals hearing.
You can learn more about the workers’ compensation claims process in Nevada here.
You’ve been hurt at work. You have medical bills and a loss of pay. You should be able to recover your money through the workers’ comp system, right? That’s why the system is in place, after all.
Because filing a workers’ compensation claim and getting money for your medical bills and lost wages is supposed to be a pretty straightforward and painless process, many people choose to file their claims without help from a lawyer. They soon discover, however, that it’s not always that easy. When low settlement offers are made, their cases are denied, or the insurance company starts asking them to return to work too soon, claimants in Nevada turn to us.
If you’ve been injured, save yourself the frustration of dealing with the claims process all by yourself. Let us help get your case on the right track from the very beginning. We can lower your risk for receiving a denial and we will make sure you get the most out of your injuries. We’ll answer your questions, help you overcome challenging situations, and get you the medical treatment and back pay you are owed.
Do you have questions about filing a workers’ compensation claim? Find some of the most frequently asked questions about claims filing here.